Evan Thomas Memorial SMHA Sportsperson of the Year Award & Scholarship - presented by Airline Hotels


Kiera Olsen - saskartoon comets zone

Alex Hill - Saskatoon Renegades zone

Easton Hudson - Saskatoon Aces zone

Cody Irwin - Saskatoon AA

Tyrell Schroeder - Saskatoon Comets zone

Logan Kwan - Saskatoon Flyers zone

Brody Beuker - Saskatoon Aces zone


2017-18 saw the introduction of a new award for players.
The Evan Thomas Memorial SMHA Sportsperson of the Year Award & Scholarship presented by Airline Hotels recognizes male or female players who are between the ages of 11-17 and play in SMHA U13, U15 or U18 hockey.  The award is for players who contribute the following:
1) leadership qualities on and off the ice. It might not be an overly verbal leader or an overly physical leader, but someone that respects what his / her teammates are about and someone who has earned the respect of his / her teammates;
2) exhibit sportsmanship and is a team player;
3) is deemed valuable to his / her hockey team through displaying values such as integrity, passion, teamwork, and courage;
4) a player who has received minimal penalties as well as no suspensions of any kind.

The Thomas family will also present the award winner with a $500.00 scholarship for post secondary schooling.

SMHA alumnus Evan Thomas exuded all of the qualities noted above.

Nomination Process:

SMHA zones, including Comets and AA city wide programs, will gather nominations from their teams.
The deadline for teams to submit nominations to their home zones is March 7th.

Please click here for the SMHA Awards Nomination Form.

Zones will then select their nominee for the Evan Thomas Memorial Sportsperson of the Year and submit it to SMHA's Awards Committee by March 22nd.
The SMHA Awards Committee will review the nominations and select the Evan Thomas Memorial Sportsperson of the Year winner.
This award will be presented at the Annual General Meeting of the SMHA in April each year.


SMHA thanks the Thomas Family and to Airline Hotels for their support of this award.

The winner of this award receives a framed award certificate from SMHA along with a $500.00 scholarship cheque from the Thomas family.

 About Evan Thomas:

Evan Thomas was an SMHA alumnus who was a natural leader that loved being part of a team.  His love of being a great teammate and part of a team may have outweighed his love of the sports he played.

Evan grew up in the Redwings and Wild zones starting with Initiation (U7) in the Redwings zone in 2004. He played in the Redwings zone through the 2006-2007 season and then became part of the Wild zone when SMHA rezoned in 2007. From 2007 through the 2009-2010 season, Evan played in the Wild zone. 

Evan played two seasons with the Saskatoon Mission PW (U13) AA team in the GSHL (Saskatoon AA) and then two seasons with the Saskatoon Outlaws Bantam (U15) AA team in the SAAHL.  Evan captained several teams he played on.

Evan moved onto play Midget (U18) AAA at 15 with the Saskatoon Blazers and then for the Moose Jaw Generals in his final two seasons of Midget (U18) AAA.  Evan led a strong Moose Jaw team in his final season.

In 2017-2018, Evan started the season with the Kootenay Ice of the WHL.  He was released part way into the season and joined the Humboldt Broncos of the SJHL where he enjoyed a solid rookie season with the Broncos.

Unfortunately, Evan and 15 other members of the Broncos lost their lives in the unimaginable tragedy that was the April 6, 2018 highway collision involving the Broncos team bus on the way to a playoff game in Nipawin.

Evan epitomizes what the Sportsperson of the Year Award signifies - being a great teammate and playing the game the way it is supposed to be played. Evan always played for the name on the front of the jersey and not the name on the back of it.

SMHA will always have Evan's family in its hearts - Dad, Scott; Mom, Laurie and Sister, Jordyn.

Evan Thomas - 1999-2018